Training Recap – Week Two

Well it’s the end of the second week of training for the Chicago Marathon. This week saw my mileage increase about 7 miles. As you’ll notice below, I have not been killing myself on my training pace. In the past I have run my training runs faster, but usually end up injured somehow. I was hoping for a better day on Saturday but unfortunately it didn’t happen. I think overall my body is just still adjusting to the increase in mileage – I have some aches and pains but nothing I haven’t experienced before. I did rather enjoy my rest day this week after seven straight days of running. I took advantage and hit the golf course – I only wished I could have hit my golf ball!

  • Monday – 6 mi @ 8:50 pace
  • Tuesday – 7.01 mi (3 mi. warm up, 3 mi. marathon pace, 1 mi. cool down) @ 8:10 average pace
  • Wednesday – 6 mi. @ 8:17 pace
  • Thursday – 6.01 mi. @ 8:07 pace
  • Friday – Rest Day
  • Saturday – 10.17 mi. @ 7:35 pace
  • Sunday – 4.01 mi. recovery run @ 8:01 pace

Weekly Total = 39.20 miles

Looking ahead I jump up to about 42 miles next week – however, my long run does a small decline to 9 miles next weekend. I also have my first twice-a-day of the training plan.

What was my biggest challenge this week? 

My work schedule was a big challenge this week – two days starting at 10 p.m., two days at 12 noon, one day at 6 a.m. It was hard to find the time to squeeze in my runs with my schedule a mess.

How’s your training going for your fall race?

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

