Training Recap – Week Fourteen

Week 14 is in the books.  It was a pretty good week, but I can tell the seasons are changing. The rain is becoming more constant and it’s getting harder to avoid it on my runs. My whole run Saturday was in a steady light rain. The temperatures are also cooling ever so slightly, especially at night, and I love that. I am happy without the humidity and without the air conditioner.

Here is the recap of my week:

  • Monday –  7.27 mi. @ 8:46 pace
  • Tuesday – 7.98 mi. @ 8:27 pace
  • Wednesday – 6 mi. @ 8:26 pace
  • Thursday –  10.21 mi. @  7:43 pace
  • Friday – Rest Day
  • Saturday – 14 mi. @ 7:49 pace
  • Sunday – 8 mi. @ 7:42 pace

Weekly Total = 53.50 miles

How is my body holding up?

I’m noticing some rather constant pain in my right knee, similar to my patellar tendonitis last year, and I’m thinking a few days of rest are going to be in order over the next few weeks. I would hate to get to Chicago and not be able to run because I didn’t take care of my body. Foam rolling and using ‘the stick’ have been more necessary lately as well. I guess that’s the price you pay for 680 miles in 14 weeks. Sleep is also getting a little harder as I get home early in the morning (1 a.m.) and then get up to see my son before he goes to school in the morning. Some mornings I have been taking a nap before work just to get some extra rest. Additionally, my son brought home a lovely illness from school that he graciously shared with the rest of us. Keeping my body in working and functioning order are my priorities!

What to expect next week?

66 miles next week is all that stands between me and taper! I am ready. My long run, the Ready to Run 20-Miler, moves to Sunday. Monday’s two-a-day will be my second to last.

26 more days till Chicago!

I find out this week if I’ll also be running in the TCS NYC Marathon on November 1 as a late charity runner entry for Autism Speaks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

