Weekly Wrap #13: 2/22 – 2/28

Happy Monday and Happy Leap Day! We hope you enjoy the extra day this year and are doing something memorable. As we write this post today, we are anxiously awaiting the arrival of our new treadmill, which is supposed to be here this morning (earlier than expected!). It’s been a pretty rough week around northern New York again as Parker has had three snow days in the last week, including today. We haven’t received that much snow, in fact we’ve lost some,Milestone 400 due to all the freezing rain we have been getting. Our driveway is a sheet of ice that some hockey teams could probably skate on.

Our Run the Year team broke the 400 mile mark this week after our slow January start. Going into today’s leap day here is where Jen and I stand for the year so far.

  • Travis — 257.32
  • Jen — 180.56

 

Here’s our workouts from this week:

Travis: I adjusted my training plan this week to account for some injury / soreness I’ve been experiencing. I added an extra rest day on Wednesday and, after my wife informed me I was favoring my left leg (injured one), I cut my recovery run last night short as well. So, I lost some mileage this week but my overall goal is to make it to the starting lines in Syracuse and Buffalo healthy. In order to do that, it’s important to understand my physical limits and give my body the rest it apparently needs. I’m hoping that I can get back on track completely with the new treadmill arriving and a lot of foam rolling, stretching and soaking in the tub.

Monday: 8 miles @ 7:27 pace

Tuesday:  8 miles — 2 mi. warm up, 4 mi. tempo, 2 mile cool down

Wednesday: Unplanned rest day

Thursday: 8 miles @ 7:51 pace

Friday: Scheduled rest day

Saturday: 14 miles @  8:02 pace — This was a brutal outside run that took place in 20 m.p.h. winds bringing the temperature with wind chill into the single digits, brrr! I’m impressed I even managed an eight minute pace.

Sunday: 5 miles @ 8:50 pace

Weekly total: 43.00 Miles  

 

Jen: As I mentioned Friday, I went to paint night with some girlfriends. I’m not the most artistic when it comes to painting, but I feel like this one didn’t turn out too bad! It was a ton of fun and I’m looking forward to hosting a similar event at our house this summer. 

 The next couple of weeks start the final build of this training cycle going into Syracuse. It doesn’t feel like I should be at this point in training already, it’s flying by!

Monday: 2 miles

Tuesday: 3.2 miles

Wednesday: 1 mile warm up, 4×800 and 1 mile cool down for 4.6 miles total

Thursday: 3.7 miles- Volleyball ended up being cancelled because the area schools had a snow day.

Friday: Off

Saturday: 4.2 miles

Sunday: 9 miles- this ended up being broken up a little. The weather was mild enough temperature wise that I drove to a local running trail. The first mile of the trail was great but as soon as I got to the back side it was sheer ice. After nearly falling several times I decided that it wasn’t worth risking injury at this point, finished the loop (3.3 miles) and took it to the treadmill for the remainder of the miles. It was a lot of running for a few minutes then having to walk/shuffle over an icy patch but it was nice to get some fresh air.

Weekly total:  22 miles

WeeklyWrap

 

3 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap #13: 2/22 – 2/28

Add yours

  1. Travis, I hope you are feeling better already! Jen, I always wanted to go to one of those painting studios. But the place we had closed before I could go. Do you just go paint at a friend’s house without instruction or does a host come in and teach you? That ice sounds scary! I hope your new treadmill has arrived. Thanks for linking with us.

    Like

    1. We have a studio here but it’s insanely hard to get into. This was actually a local art teacher who does these classes at one of the bars here and has just started doing home parties. It was a lot of fun! There were several options to choose from and she just walked around and gave instructions to each person on how to mix to get the right color and tips on different parts of the painting.

      Like

  2. Oh I love the painting, what do you mean your not artistic? I think it looks awesome and I know it was fun with friends!!! We use to have one here but they closed it and I don’t know why it was always busy that I could tell. Thanks you guys for linking up !

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

