Friday Five 3/11: Five Recipes for this Week

Good morning and happy Friday everyone. It has been an awesome week around our house and we can’t wait to share all the details with you on Monday. For now, we’d like to focus our attention on today’s Friday Five topic – food and drinks.

dc_linkup

Cooking at our house can be a real challenge. Since Travis is working evenings right now, it’s just me to handle the cooking. We work off a tight budget and planning our menu for the week is important. Besides letting us plan our finances, it allows us the opportunity to plan new menu items and ensures that we aren’t eating the same meal every night. I typically do one big shopping trip every two weeks and a quick trip in between to replenish things we go through quickly.

Travis is okay eating the same meal over and over especially since he eats leftovers almost everyday at work, however, I am not. I get bored cooking the same meals too and love to try recipes from magazines, websites, social media posts and family and friends.

I’m getting ready for a big shopping trip this weekend, so here are a few recipes that I’m planning on trying in the coming days:

Breakfast: French Toast Bake I usually make a huge batch of pancakes or waffles for the kids to have in the morning but Parker hasn’t been wanting them the last few days so I think it’s time to switch it up a bit. I like him to have something filling before he goes to school for the day and he is insanely picky so this should be a safe bet. He’ll have some of this with yogurt and I’ll know he’s had a good meal if he doesn’t happen to eat all of his lunch at school. For Travis and I, I’ll be making the egg muffins I’ve been making for weeks and adding some hash browns to the bottom to mix it up a little.

Smoothie: Cinnamon Roll Smoothie If I’m running late on a certain morning there may not be time for me to sit down and have breakfast once I’ve gotten both of the kids ready to roll. I like having things on hand to throw in the Ninja so I can have breakfast while I’m driving to school.

Recipe and Photo from familyfreshmeals.com
Recipe and Photo from familyfreshmeals.com

Lunch: Asian Shrimp and Vegetable Stir Fry I’ve been making this recipe for some time but we haven’t had it in a bit. The peanut sauce is just a little spicy and so delicious. Travis has been begging me to make potstickers for a while so I’m making those to go with this meal.

Recipe and Photo are owned by Kraft
Recipe and Photo are owned by Kraft

With the shift that Travis is working right now we usually have a nicer meal for lunch and kind of treat that as our dinner for the day and the kids and I have something easier for dinner.  I’ve also still been trying to do weekly meal prep so that we have meals ready to go in the fridge for Travis to eat at work and for the kids and I to have if a night is particularly hectic.

Dinner: Cheesy Sausage Tortellini I’ve been wanting to make this for a while but it just hasn’t made it’s way to the meal plan.

Dessert: Nutella Swirled Banana Bread I really love to bake, so I try to find one thing a week that I can make that Parker can help with. He loves doing the mixing! I don’t know about you guys, but I LOVE nutella and I also love banana bread so I don’t think you can really go wrong with this one!

Nutella Swirled Bread
Recipe and Photo from thebakermama.com
Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

