2016 Buffalo Marathon, Training Update #2

Hello, and thanks for stopping by today! I’m now in my ninth week of training for my goal race – the Buffalo Marathon on May 29th. I wanted to get this post out earlier in the week but I honestly forgot. Things happen, right?

wp-1456328007629.jpg

The second month of training was not without its ups and downs. As you can see in the photo below, there are a few red X’s sprinkled throughout. The first two were caused by soreness and tired legs, I simply needed some extra rest. The last two were caused by the flu. It was not fun. My first run post-flu was an 18 mile adventure that went better than expected given the state of dehydration I was in the days preceeding the run.

2016-03-25-16.40.04.jpg.jpg

I’m now only 9 days out from the Syracuse Half Marathon on April 3. I had first thought that I would use this event as a litmus test for the full, gauging my fitness, legs and pacing. I don’t know if that is going to be possible given the heavy workload I have between now and then. Ultimately, I think it will come down to how I feel toeing the starting line.

Here are the totals from my second month of training:

  1. Total Activities: 25
  2. Total Distance: 192.17 miles
  3. Total Time: 25:58:35 (h:m:s)
  4. Calories Burned: 18,522.

Although my weekly mileage continues to increase just ever so slightly, I am happy that the number of two a day runs drops from 6 (last month) to 2 between now and the end of week 12. I will also have my first of three runs at 20 miles or more.

Overall, here is where I stand for this training cycle:

  1. Total Activities: 49
  2. Total Distance: 350.39 miles
  3. Total Time: 47:31:29 (h:m:s)
  4. Calories Burned: 33,096

Thanks for taking the time and if you any questions about my training schedule, the paces I run, equipment I like, etc – please feel free to leave a comment. I’ll be sure to answer it.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

