Weekly Wrap #17: 3/21 – 3/27

Hi! How was your weekend? Ours was pretty low key, which were totally good with because the next couple of weeks are pretty crazy! Let’s back up and talk about the rest of the week.

Parker was on Spring Break this week so he was home with us during the day which Peyton has been enjoying. She loves having him around and will miss him when he goes back to school on Tuesday.

The week was filled with auto repair appointments spurring from a routine inspection appointment for New York State. Once we got the part in and got it fixed we had to have an alignment done and have it re-inspected. Hopefully it’s good to go now. Car repair is such a pain!

Peyton has been going through a phase where she’s up many times during the night, for very long periods of time. I’m thinking it is either a growth spurt or teeth that are the culprit. While I wait for it to pass I’ve been surviving on multiple cups of coffee.

 On Friday morning we dyed Easter eggs with the kids. Peyton wasn’t super impressed but Parker was really into it this year!

img_1380

Our Easter this year was also very low key. Travis had to work in the afternoon so we spent the morning with the kids. They found their baskets and hunted for eggs. No big meal, just brunch for us this year! It was gorgeous yesterday so the kids and I spent the afternoon playing outside and going for a walk.

Here’s a look at our workouts for the week!

 

Travis:  With my final run of the week on Sunday afternoon, I have officially completed 1/2 of my training plan for the Buffalo Marathon – only 9 more weeks until Buffalo.

But first, the Syracuse Half Marathon is coming up next Sunday. I’m having a lot of doubts regarding my level of preparation as I’ve been consistently missing the paces I want to run, and know I can run. I wonder if it’s even possible to beat my course record, let alone my personal record.

My mileage jumped 19 miles this week over last, but that increase is almost entirely due to missing runs while sick with the flu. Since this upcoming race is just thrown into my training plan as a workout, I have a busy week coming up.

2016-03-27-22.26.02.jpg.jpg

Monday: 8 mi. @ 8:24 pace (a.m.)

4 mi. @ 7:30 pace (p.m.)

Tuesday: 9 mi. @ 7:53 pace

Wednesday: 7 mi. @ 8:38 pace

Thursday: 10 mi. @ 8:02
pace

Friday: Rest Day

Saturday: 19 mi. @ 7:51 pace

Sunday: 7 mi. recovery @ 7:21 pace

Total Weekly Mileage: 64.00 Miles

Jen: This week marked the beginning of taper for me. While my workouts didn’t change all that much things are winding down for this training cycle. It was a good week workout wise, my legs have felt awesome! I’m hoping they will continue to feel this way right through race day. The weather for Syracuse is looking alright. It’s shaping up to be a lot colder than I’d like but at least unlike previous years there’s not major snow in the forecast. Fingers crossed that it warms up a little towards the end of the week!

Monday: 2 mi. shakeout

Tuesday: 3.5 mi.

Wednesday: 1 mi. warm up, 3 mi. tempo, 2 mi. cool down

Thursday: 3 mi.

Friday: Rest Day

Saturday: 3.5 mi.

Sunday: 6.5 mi.

Total Weekly Mileage: 24.5 miles

8 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap #17: 3/21 – 3/27

Add yours

  1. Low key is good.

    Awww so sweet that the kiddies enjoy each other so much…isn’t it?

    Great workout weeks for you both.
    Good Luck next week Travis I hope you are able to hit your desired pace but if not-give yourself a break. You got this!

    Sending a warm front your way for your race 😉

    Like

  2. I love the pictures of your dyed eggs. When I was little we would always go to my grandparents house to dye them. Let me tell you my granddaddy and my daddy would start all with one color but by the end of the night they had gotten all the dye and mixed so many colors the eggs were….yucky!! My mom and grandmother would get on to them but it just fuel their fire and I thought it was pretty funny! Great memories right there!
    Thanks for linking up!!

    Like

  3. I love your dyed eggs. They have a marbled effect. Very cool. Our state no longer does auto inspections (I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing!) but repairs are always a pain. Travis, wow–that is a ton of miles! Jen, it sounds like you had a great training cycle and are ready for this race. Good luck to both of you in the Syracuse half. Thanks for linking with us.

    Like

    1. Thanks! This cycle has definitely gone very well and I’m looking forward to racing for the first time this year! Now if only the forecast would look up. It’s looking like we’ll have 25 mph winds and cold temps!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

