Weekly Wrap #19: 4/4 – 4/10

Happy Monday! How was your weekend? We’ve been busy this week! Travis had most of the weekend off so we took advantage and caught up on some projects around the house that needed done. We tried to fit in some yard work but Mother Nature had other ideas. The seasons are apparently backwards in Upstate NY. We’re still getting inches of snow at a time, followed by 40 degree days. It’s a mess!

springforward

I’ve been keeping busy working on a baby shower that I’m hosting for a good friend of ours next Sunday. I love party planning, and would totally do it as a job if I could! However, due to our busy schedule the last few weeks, I’m having a hard time getting everything done.

On Saturday, Travis and I spent almost the entire day in Syracuse. For Christmas last year he had gotten me tickets to see Luke Bryan, Little Big Town and Dustin Lynch and the concert was this past weekend. It was nice to have some time away and the kids had a great time with their babysitter! We spent some time shopping, had Hibachi for dinner and then headed to the show. The act of getting to the show was a little challenging though! It was held at the Carrier Dome which is in the middle of Syracuse University’s campus, so there isn’t any parking near by. The parking garage that was suggested was going to be a nightmare to get to with traffic so we opted to park over a mile away and walk. Our seats were fantastic! They were just above floor level and off the side of the stage so we had a perfect view. The concert itself was awesome. It started at 7:30 and we didn’t leave until midnight!


Here’s a look at our workouts from last week:

Travis: On Monday, I had the opportunity to answer a few questions for Runner’s World magazine in a short article they posted about the Syracuse Half Marathon titled Syracuse Half Marathon Runners Go Through HailI’d encourage you to click the link and watch the video from the race. Leave a comment below with your thoughts!

Although there were a few edits to my training plan this week, my mileage was good. The first came on Monday, after the Syracuse race, when my legs felt like Jello from running in the snow, so I removed my afternoon run of 4 miles. The second edit came over the weekend as my schedule did not allow me to do my long run on Saturday, so I flipped Saturday and Sunday’s runs around. The final alteration came during my long run on Sunday. I have been having a problem with blisters during this training cycle and this weeks long run was no exception. I only made it through 13 (out of 20) miles before a massive blister formed. I stopped my run, came home, bandaged my feet and slowly limped through the remaining seven miles on the treadmill with a fresh pair of socks and different shoes a few hours later.

Monday: 8 miles @ 8:37 pace

Tuesday: 2 mi. warm up; 5 x 1 mi sprints w/ 1:30 rest; 2 mi. cool down

Wednesday: 6 miles @ 8:29 pace

Thursday: 10 miles @ 7:21 pace

Friday: Rest Day

Saturday: 8 miles @ 8:03 pace

Sunday: Part 1 – 13 miles @ 7:42 pace

                  Part 2 – 7 miles @ 8:37 pace

Total Weekly Mileage: 61 miles

 

Jen: This was an easy week following the Syracuse race last weekend. My legs didn’t feel as trashed as I had expected them to but the runs we’re still kept light for recovery. The focus is shifting to Buffalo now as we’re about 7 weeks out.

Monday: Off

Tuesday: I ran one easy mile and walked another just to loosen up and followed it with a ton of foam rolling

Wednesday: 3 miles

Thursday: 3.5 miles

Friday: Off

Saturday: 3 miles

Sunday: Unplanned rest day. We didn’t get home until 3 am after the concert and I was completely wiped out all day yesterday.

Total Weekly Mileage: 11.5 miles

We’re linking up with Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap

WeeklyWrap

2 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap #19: 4/4 – 4/10

Add yours

  1. I’ve seen Luke Bryan in concert! The girls went wild over him and his painted on pants. Yikes on the blister! Do you use anything to prevent them? Trail Toes is awesome! Buffalo will be here soon! Good luck as you both continue to train. Thanks for linking with us.

    Like

    1. Haha! You can definitely lump me in that category too 😳 Travis has never had issues with blisters before so he’s been trying to narrow down the cause while treating them at the same time. We’re thinking it’s the different shoes he’s been trying out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

