Weekly Wrap #21: 4/18 – 4/24

Is it just me, or is the week leading up to vacation always madness? We leave for Florida on Friday morning, and the to do list for the week just keeps growing. I need a few more sets of hands or maybe a clone to get it all done this week. There’s been weird work hours for Travis  and time sensitive things popping up at the very last (and worst possible) minute. I feel like I’ve spent the majority of the day on the phone. We are definitely looking forward to some major downtime next week!

if-i-need-a-hug

The weather has been nice so we’ve been trying to get out for a walk with the kids after dinner to help burn some extra energy before bedtime. Parker has been learning to ride his bike and Peyton has been enjoying a little freedom outside of the stroller. They seem to have limitless energy these days so it’s nice to be able to get them active on the evenings that Parker doesn’t have T-Ball.

 

Travis: Well I don’t have much to say this week because I’m starting to sound like a broken record, and that’s not fun to listen to or read about. I still have blisters, so bad that I have actually stopped running and ordered a new pair of shoes. I’m not doing myself any favors by trying to run with blisters, so I am trying to allow my feet to heal, get my new pair of shoes on Tuesday and get going again tomorrow. As a result, my mileage and training took a huge hit, and hopefully I won’t have horrible results in Buffalo in a few weeks.

Quantum 360
New ASICS Gel Quantum 360

Monday: 8 mi @ 7:46 pace

Tuesday: 8 mi @ 7:48 pace

Wednesday: 6 mi @ 8:06 pace (a.m.)

4 mi. @ 8:57 pace (p.m.)

Thursday: 5.25 mi.– This was supposed to be a 14 mile run, with speed work,

but I was unable to get through the run after developing new blisters.

Friday: Rest Day

Saturday: Unplanned Rest Day — 22 miles was planned

Sunday: Unplanned Rest Day

Total Weekly Mileage: 31.25 miles

 

Jen: Nothing overly exciting for me either. My long runs are back in double digits. I’ve been enjoying doing my longer runs on a trail that’s about 20 minutes from our house. It’s a paved 3.2 mile loop around a golf course- actually it’s the same trail we do our Piece By Piece 5K on. It’s nice to not have to worry about any traffic aside from the occasional biker that manages to scare the daylights out of me. I’m enjoying having the extra rest day added into my plan. I was doing fine with the six days but by the end of the week I was starting to get a little spent. My legs aren’t feeling quite as fatigued and it’s made for some very enjoyable runs. I do some extra stretching and foam rolling on my rest days instead.

Monday: Rest Day

Tuesday: 3.3 miles

Wednesday: 2 mile warm up, 4×400/2 minute recovery, 1 mile cool down

Thursday: 3 miles

Friday: Rest Day

Saturday: 4 miles

Sunday: 11.3 miles

Total Weekly Mileage:  26.6 miles

We’re linking up with Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap

WeeklyWrap

One thought on “Weekly Wrap #21: 4/18 – 4/24

Add yours

  1. The week before vacation is the worst! I try to catch up on things at work I haven’t looked at for months and scrub my house top to bottom. Why? It’s weird. I certainly hope the new shoes do the trick, Travis! Blisters are awful. Jen, the golf course loop sounds nice. I may check into that myself just for some variety. Thanks for linking up with us. I hope you enjoy that vacation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

