Weekly Wrap #25: 5/16 – 5/22

Good morning and welcome back. It’s been a busy week around here but first – it’s race week! We are very excited, and slightly nervous, for the Buffalo Marathon and Half this weekend.  We’ve both been training very hard for PR’s and we hope that we have but the required work into our preparation.

We are leaving on Friday morning with the first events on Saturday. Up first will be the 5k for Travis, followed by Parker’s kids race later in the morning. We also have family meeting us at the airport in Buffalo that morning so we have to play the “I’ll do this, you do that” game.

On Sunday we have the Half and Marathon starting at 6 am! Good thing the suns up at 4:30 these days. Following the race, (PR’s or bust!) we will be going over to our friendly neighbors to the north and visiting Niagara Falls.

I’m sure you can follow along all weekend on our Twitter and Instagram accounts. This week we began the final preparations for our Piece by Piece 5k. Medals have been ordered, winners trophies have arrived and race packets have begun magically assembling themselves with the help from our race fairies!

img_1908

We have some more work to complete but we are making headway. We also found time to get our flowers planted and it makes such an instant difference in color and curb appeal. We still have many projects to complete around the house but we only have 6 arms each so we are maxed out at the moment – in due time.

img_1920

And finally, we of course still managed to workout. You won’t see any major impressive workouts from either of us as we are so close to the race, but nonetheless here are our workouts from last week:

Travis : I’m feeling ready – my feet are healed, my legs are only a little tired and hydration has begun in earnest. I plan to stretch and foam roll all week and take my last two training runs seriously. I’m looking forward to Parker’s race Saturday. Fortunately, these races are one time Jen let’s me win a “discussion” and allows me the opportunity to do the kids races with him. It’s a great Father / Son time.

Monday: 8 miles @ 8:10 pace

Tuesday: 8 miles

2 mi. warm up; 4 mi. @ marathon pace; 2 mi. cool down

Wednesday: 6 miles @ 8:57 pace

Thursday: 6 miles @ 8:11 pace

Friday: Rest Day

Saturday: 10 miles @ 8:35 pace

Sunday: Rest Day

Total Weekly Mileage: 38 miles

Jen: Race week! I’ve got some nerves but mostly I’m feeling ready. There shouldn’t be any freak blizzards so I’m ready to put my training to work this weekend! I’m going after my two year old PR again…so fingers crossed!

Last weekend I got asked to join a Ragnar Adirondacks team for this year. This has been on my bucket list for a while but we don’t know enough people (runners) to form an entire team so it hasn’t panned out. So after making sure it’ll fit into my training I decided to go for it! I’ll be joining a team of 12 ladies, most of which I don’t know. One of my best friends from Colorado is going to fly out and run with me as well. So excited!

img_1903

Monday: Rest Day

Tuesday: 3 miles

Wednesday: 2 mile warm up, 3 mile tempo, 1 mile cool down

Thursday: 3 miles

Friday: Rest Day

Saturday: 2 miles

Sunday: 7 miles

Total weekly mileage:  21 miles

 

Have a great Monday!

5 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap #25: 5/16 – 5/22

Add yours

  1. Good luck in your races this weekend! Buffalo is my hometown but I didn’t fall in love with running until I move away. Hopefully I’ll add this race to my bucket list soon!

    Like

  2. Hooray for race week! Good luck to both of you this weekend (and Parker too!). You’ve both worked so hard. Visiting Niagra Falls sounds like great icing on the cake and a wonderful way to celebrate your shiny new PRs. Enjoy the rest of your taper week. And Jen…how cool to be doing Ragnar Adirondacks. Ragnar is definitely on my bucket! Thanks for linking with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

