My Journey to the Chicago Marathon – Week 1

17 Weeks to go until the 2016 Chicago Marathon. Wait…What?

 

It felt kind of strange to type the title of this post. I still can’t believe that I’m actually going to do this!

After a few days off after the Buffalo Half Marathon it was time to start training again, but this time I’m headed towards some uncharted territory! I’d be lying if I said I’m not nervous about this, but I’m going to do my best to trust the process and trust that my body is capable of making it through 26.2 miles in one piece.

afraid

Thankfully, I am still conditioned from Buffalo so I don’t have to spend a lot of time building up a base again and can focus on working up to the long runs that are coming very soon.

 

Here’s the workouts from my first week of training:

Sunday: 4 miles

Monday: 2 miles

Tuesday: 3.5 miles

Wednesday: 6.2 miles- 1 mile warm up, 6×800 with 4 minute recovery, 1 mile cool down.

Thursday: 4 miles

Friday: Rest day

Saturday: unplanned day off

Sunday: 10 miles

Total: 29.7 miles

Other things that I’m thinking about going into training:

-Fuel: I can typically make it through a half marathon with either just Nuun/water or a couple of Shot Bloks as long as I’ve had a substantial breakfast. I don’t think that this is going to be the case for a full marathon so I need to start exploring some other fueling options. I’m not a fan of gels, so any suggestions of things to try would be appreciated!

-Strength Training: I want to make sure that I’m doing everything that I can to be successful for this training so I’ve been putting some extra focus on strength training. The areas that I am working mainly on are my hips and core and I’ve been throwing in a little bit of Yoga to get in a good stretch (and finding out that I’m extremely unflexible).

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

