Weekly Wrap #31: 7/4-7/10

Happy Monday!

It’s been a pretty quiet week around here. Parker’s tee ball season is officially finished, leaving us with two extra free evenings during the week.

After we got back from New Jersey both kids came down with nasty colds and they eventually passed it on to me as well so that has led to us needing and wanting to lay low and try to get healthy.

For the Fourth of July, we spent the majority of the day at home playing outside with the kids. We hit the local parade where the kids got far too much candy, but they seemed to enjoy it! We didn’t attempt to keep them awake to go to the fireworks. The thought of keeping them up at least three hours past their bed time just wasn’t appealing!

Parker started his extended school year on Thursday. He was very excited to meet his new teacher and was thrilled to find out that they will be going swimming several times during the week. I love that even though he will be spending six weeks of his summer in school that they are still trying to add in fun aspects to it for the kids.

I head off to Nashville on Friday. I’m really looking forward to spending the weekend with my sister that I haven’t seen since Christmas as well as exploring Nashville. She’s got some fun things planned for us! There’s been some talk of moonshine and mechanical bulls…we’ll see if I survive!

Travis ran a local 5k on Saturday morning in the pouring rain. Parker was really bummed that he didn’t get to race, so after the event was over he and daddy had their own race in the parking lot. Parker won!

 

img_2370

Here are our workouts for the week:

Travis: Training is beginning to ramp up quickly now. As you’ll see below, I set a new 5K PR this week — now my third year in a row setting a new 5K PR in the exact same week of the year. I have been trying to break into the 18 minute range since last July with no success. It felt good to finally achieve that new PR and prove to myself that the endless miles are paying off. I also ran my first sub 6 minute mile since I was a high schooler, so that was exciting as well. Looking ahead I will be doing some video reviews on some newer products and the first review should be up soon on YouTube, so stay tuned.

Monday: 6 miles @ 7:58 pace

Tuesday: 8 miles – 2 Mile Warm Up, 4 Miles Tempo Pace, 2 Mile Cool Down – 7:52 pace

Wednesday: 6 miles + Strides @ 7:53 pace

Thursday: 8 miles – 1 Mile Warm Up, 6 Miles Marathon Pace, 1 Mile Cool Down @ 7:43 pace

Friday: Rest Day

Saturday: 5K Race with two new PR’s

1) One Mile PR – 5:54

2) 5K PR – 18:57

11 mile Long Run @ 8:02 pace

Sunday: 7 miles @ 7:55 pace

Total Weekly Mileage: 49 miles

Jen: It’s hard to believe that I’m already through week 5 of Chicago training. For the most part it’s been going well! My legs were tired for the first half of the week, but that was just from shifting my long run around last weekend. I’ve been dealing with a sinus infection this week and have been feeling all around miserable, but have still managed to get all of my runs in. Actually, when I’m running seems to be the only time that I can breathe easily! This weeks long run brought my first venture into anything over half marathon distance. Because of the storms we had all weekend I was stuck to the treadmill. Now, I don’t usually mind the treadmill but 14 miles was pushing it for me. I’m looking forward to checking out the greenways in Nashville while I’m there next weekend!

Monday: 13 miles

Tuesday: 3 miles

Wednesday: 2 mile w/u, 3 mile tempo, 1 mile c/d for 6 miles total

Thursday: 3 miles

Friday: Rest Day

Saturday: 2 miles

Sunday: 14 miles

Total weekly mileage:  41 miles

WeeklyWrap

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

